Selfie. (eww)

Trends are eternal, ever-changing and evolving. They may be in the field of fashion, music, technology, whatsoever. The trend in discussion for this post falls under the field of photography, and maybe social media. This trend has actually been a “trend” (do the two-fingers bending thingy) ever since the camera was introduced to the world. And if you catch my drift, yes. I’m talking about the one, the only, SELFIE.

The trend here is not actually the process, but the name. I really wanted to know where the term originated, because it sounds so (forgive me for the term), ghetto.

I remember my Filipino friend Gio telling me a story regarding selfies while we were on the phone. Here it goes.

Gio: Ayoko ng selfies. (I hate selfies.)
Friend: Bakit naman? Ano namang ginawa sayo ng word na yun? (Why? What did the word do to you?)
Gio: E kapag group yun, ano tawag, groupie? E alam mo naman kung ano yung urban meaning ng groupie diba? (If it’s a group, what would it be then, groupie? You know what the urban meaning of groupie is, right?)

Getting down to the bottom of things, I wanted to know what a selfie means, in formal terms. So I consulted the unconsultable: Wikipedia. Here’s their definition:

A selfie is a genre of self-portrait photograph, typically taken with a hand-held digital camera or camera phone. Selfies are often associated with social networking and photo sharing services such as MySpace, Facebook, and Instagram, where they are commonly posted. They are often casual, are typically taken either with a camera held at arm’s length or in a mirror, and typically include either only the photographer, or the photographer and as many people as can be in focus. Selfies taken that involve multiple people are known as “group selfies”.

So that’s that. The definition of the selfie according to Wikipedia.

Here’s the thing: I hate the name. I don’t hate the fact that people take pictures of themselves because I do, too. (You’re never gonna find them on the internet. I made sure.)

I am a K-Pop fan. And our term for selfie is the sel-ca/selca, which is a portmanteau of “self” and “camera”. It’s been around since 2008, while the the word “selfie” only saw the light of day by the end of 2012, even if it was popularized way back in 2005.

But that’s not the reason why I don’t like the term. You see, in the Philippines, they have the term jejemon, which is used to define people with low IQs. True enough, people who like to use the term selfie most of the time are those with the low IQs, as per observation. I just see this term as something that is so lowly and very stupid.

Every time I hear that word, I just cringe. They sound like they just made voodoo dolls of themselves. They really sound so stupid and I just really want to pull my Swiss knife out of my bag and throw it at them. But no, I’m not a murderer. That’ll just make me more stupid than they are.

The bottomline: I HATE IT BECAUSE ITS STUPID.

(Kudos to my good friend Joseph Marzan (he wanted to flaunt his name OTL) for corrections! :))

(You can e-mail me at randomnuggetsofwisdom@gmail.com or tweet me@kevinsrandom)

Leave a Reply

