TWERKING. (and why I don’t like it)

In a world where dancing is very popular that everybody does it, and whatever dance is very popular in social media or on TV and newspapers, people are sure to follow it.

There was the Treadmill, the YMCA, the Egyptian dance, the Shuffle, the Gangnam Style, the Harlem Shake, the Gentleman, and the latest addition to the never-ending list of cheap dance crazes – the Twerk.

And what is “Twerk” you may ask? I have never done it, so why ask me? Let’s see the definition as we are aided by our good friend, Google. Shall we?

According to UrbanDictionary.com (this was the top link for the keyword “twerk”.), Twerk is “The rhythmic gyrating of the lower fleshy extremities in a lascivious manner with the intent to elicit sexual arousal or laughter in ones intended audience.”

And I would like to add this video as an example, for reference:

Okay, so some may say that it would be too late for me to comment on this trend because by the time that I am writing and posting this, the popularity for this kind of trend is at its climax. However, I am just sharing my honest opinion.

I SERIOUSLY DETEST THIS DANCE. WHY? Because it degrades us as human beings. I actually have no problems with it being sexual (as I am a male with urges, of course); however, butts weren’t developed for gyrating them in that manner. It degrades women to sex tools, the very thing feminists (and anybody else fighting for respect and equality) are avoiding.

I apologize for saying it so straightforwardly, but I’m just being realistic here. Women can’t get equality and respect if some of them won’t even bother to cooperate, and make it just much worse than it already is.

To all the girls who twerk and read this post, are you really happy when you do it? I mean, you are, but have you gotten the same amount of respect from other people, especially males, from before you’ve started doing it?

The only thing I’m trying to say here, to summarize those statements, is that twerking strips women of their dignity and downgrades them to a level that they all worked so hard for, to uplift.

And this isn’t just for the ladies. To the guys who twerk, I’m pretty sure your friends have started calling you gay. (I’m an open bisexual, so don’t misjudge me on this one.) I mean, you have worked so hard to defend your sexuality, if you are straight. To the gay guys, I’m pretty sure you’ve received some verbal abuse from sexists and puritans alike.

To sum it up, I would just like to say that I’m not really stopping anyone from twerking, it’s just that it eliminates the respect for one’s own dignity and body.

Thank you very much for reading.

-Kevin

(You can e-mail me at randomnuggetsofwisdom@gmail.com or tweet me @kevinsrandom)

Leave a Reply

